The 2021 Annual Meeting was virtual via a Zoom webinar hosted by Association Member Benefits Advisors in Austin, Texas.  President William C. (Bill) Hamilton convened the general meeting at 9:20 a.m. 

President Hamilton led recitation of the pledges of allegiance to the United States flag and to the Texas flag. A moment of silence was observed.

Porter Wilson, Executive Director of the Employees Retirement System (ERS), presented a summary of actions by the 87th Legislature that affected administration and benefits provided by ERS.  Jennifer Chambers, Director of Government Relations, outlined the impact of legislative appropriations for the ERS pension fund.  They responded to questions from members.

Sponsors highlighted during a short break were:  Association Member Benefits Advisors (AMBA), Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas, UnitedHealthcare, Delta Dental, and Superior Vision.  

Senator Jane Nelson was honored as the recipient of the Senator A.M. Aikin, Jr., Memorial Retired State Employees Association Public Service Award.  Bill Hamilton noted Senator Nelson had served in the Senate for 28 years and recognized the body of work she had accomplished on behalf of state retirees.  A short video highlighted presentation of the award in Senator Nelson’s Capitol office.

Annual RSEA Business Meeting

President Hamilton called the business meeting to order at 11:30 a.m. A motion was made by Rick Moss to dispense with the reading of the minutes in their entirety and accept them as written.  A second was offered by Kay Arnold. The motion passed unanimously.

Treasurer Elena Diaz presented the 2020 Calendar Year Treasurer’s Report. Larry Nuckels moved to accept the Treasurer’s Report for 2020 as presented, subject to audit.  A second to the motion was offered by Tina Washington.  The motion passed unanimously.

A report from the Nominating Committee was presented by 1st Vice President Marie Moore, with a slate of four nominees to serve from January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2023.  The nominees were:

William C. (Bill) Hamilton, President
William M. (Willie) Piña, 2nd Vice President
Eliza May, Director
Denice Bettencourt, Director

Kay Arnold made a motion to adopt the Nominating Committee’s Nomination Report by acclamation; with second by Cecilia Garza.  The motion passed unanimously.

Tina Washington made a motion for election of the slate, as presented; a second was offered by Sharon Kilmer.  The motion passed unanimously.

The business meeting was adjourned at 12:00 noon.

Names of winners of door prizes of $50 prepaid VISA cards and one $100 prepaid VISA card were displayed.  The cards would be awarded to members who had pre-registered and attended the meeting.

The gift cards were provided through generous donations by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas, UnitedHealthcare, Delta Dental, Superior Vision, and an anonymous RSEA board member.

The general meeting was adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

William C. (Bill) Hamilton

Retired State Employees Association
Agenda – Annual Membership Meeting
Thursday, October 6, 2022

Last Year's Minutes to be Approved



Housekeeping and Zoom Tips – Bo Carr, AVP, Association Relations, AMBA 

Convene Meeting – President Bill Hamilton
Pledges of Allegiance
Moment of Silence

  • Military veterans
  • Healthcare workers
  • Public officials
  • State employees and retirees
  • All who have served as RSEA directors

Recognition of Sponsors


Video Introduction of 2022-23 RSEA Public Service Fellowship Recipients at LBJ School of Public Affairs, UT Austin


Employees Retirement System: Legislative and Benefits Update
Porter Wilson, Executive Director, ERS


Break - Display Sponsor Logos ($50 door prize before & after break)


Shiny New Investments Yield Same Old Results: How to recognize and stay away from the latest and greatest financial traps
Robert Elder
Former Director of Investor Education with State Securities Board


RSEA Business Meeting
End business meeting & Preliminary Closing remarks


Door prizes (names on screen) (Seven $50 door prizes, then grand $100 prize)


Closing Remarks and Adjournment